800 Bradbury Dr. SE Suite 215 Albuquerque, NM 87106 (505) 827 7800 www.sec.state.nm.us



Hon. William F. Lang (Chair) Jeffrey L. Baker Stuart M. Bluestone Hon. Garrey Carruthers Ronald Solimon Judy Villanueva Frances F. Williams

## STATE ETHICS COMMISSION

CONTACT:

For Immediate Release:

6/4/2021

Jeremy D. Farris, Executive Director jeremy.farris@state.nm.us 505.490.0951

Sonny C. Haquani, Director of Communications <u>sonny.haquani@state.nm.us</u> 505.554.7706

## PRESS RELEASE

State Ethics Commission Appoints Chair of Citizen Redistricting Committee and Two Non-Major-Party Members

*Albuquerque, NM, June 4, 2021* – Today the State Ethics Commission appointed retired New Mexico Supreme Court Justice, Edward L. Chavez to serve as the new Citizen Redistricting Committee's Chair. Additionally, the State Ethics Commissioners, appointed Robert Rhatigan (the state demographer) and Joaquin Sanchez (a public school teacher and community organizer) to the seats on the Citizen Redistricting Committee that are reserved for Independents (DTS) or members of minor parties.

The SEC interviewed applicants during the Commission's bi-monthly meeting via Zoom. The Commission appointed the chair of the Committee unanimously and reached a consensus on the two non-major-party members in the first round of voting.

On July 1, 2021, when the Redistricting Act becomes effective, the Commission's general counsel will administer the oath of office for appointee.

For more information about the Citizen Redistricting Committee, visit <u>www.sec.state.nm.us.</u>